User Management

From the workspace, navigate to menu Connection > User Management…, or you can click on the User Management button at the toolbar.

If the User Management button is not on the toolbar, right click on the toolbar and choose Customize Toolbar... and add it in.

User Management feature is currently available for MySQL only.

Create a new user via GUI

  • Open the User Management dialog

  • Use the + button at the bottom left to create a new user.

  • Input the username and password for the new user you need.

Grant privileges to new user

If you want to grant global privileges to the new user, switch to the Global Privileges tab and configure.

The new user will have certain privileges for all the databases. If you check and grant all privileges from this setting, beware that the new user will have the same power as the default root user. You probably want to do that to a Backup root user account.

In most cases, you will be granting privileges to the new users based on some specific databases that account should have access to, then use the Database Privileges tab to configure.

Select the database and grant the corresponding privileges to the new user.

Set resource limits

An addition setting for the new user is that you can define the resource limits. This includes:

  • Max Updates: The number of updates the account can execute within one hour.

  • Max Connections: The number of times the account can connect to the server within an hour.

  • Max Questions: The number of queries the account can execute within one hour.

After that, click Apply to finish creating the new user.

Update the privileges of a current user

From the User Management dialog, TablePlus lists all current users of the database on the left side. You can select any user to view the current privileges and make changes if needed.

If you want to remove all of the rights assigned to the selected user account, you can go back to edit, uncheck the privileges and then save the changes.

To delete a user, select the user and hit - button near the bottom left then save.